Washington, DC-Miscellaneous: Isabel

This summer, I was determined to get the absolute most out of my short time in DC (only 8 weeks). My plan is to return to DC immediately postgrad and practice there for a few years before returning to Cincinnati. Although I had already started to establish myself in DC because of the summer I spent there after 1L, I wanted to make sure that I expanded my network and maximized my connections.

One of the ways I did this was through the Hispanic Bar Association of DC (HBA-DC). The first event I went to was during my first week in DC and it was a joint fundraising event with an organization which services immigrants in the DC, Maryland, and Virginia area. At this event, I met another Latinx law student, who very quickly became a good friend. I also met an attorney who works for the other organization, who throughout the course of the summer became both a mentor and a great friend. I learned a lot about both HBA-DC and the other organization at this event, which led me to later work towards obtaining a fellowship in conjunction with the attorney I met.

The next event I attended was a Latina Leadership Academy, at which I met another Latinx law student with whom I became very good friends. The Academy was a 6-hour session on a Saturday which attracted both attorneys and law students. We spoke about racial biases, discrimination in the workplace, and how to find empowerment within ourselves and through each other. I also met an attorney, when I overheard her say that she is also Peruvian, who works in immigration in DC and Maryland. I only spoke with her for a moment, and mostly about our shared heritage, but I later met with her to discuss the work that she was doing and learn about another opportunity for a possible fellowship.

Over the course of 8 weeks, I got the best experience I could possibly get but I would not have been able to do it had I not taken advantage of the opportunity to join the HBA-DC as a student member and have access to all of their events. I made great friends, established connections with potential employers, and gained mentors who I know will be happy to help me when I move to DC.

I also joined the Washington Council of Lawyers which, among other things, offered me the opportunity to hear Justice Kagan speak at a relatively intimate event with many other students and attorneys in the area.fullsizeoutput_1b96I highly recommend, wherever you are, that you learn about the local bar association and take advantage of student memberships!

Leave a comment