Before I Go: Isabel

This summer, I am returning to the same firm I was working at last summer, (but this time I get paid!). Last summer, I had an amazing experience learning from the partners at the firm and working directly with clients to finalize their cases. I continued to work on a variety of projects for the firm over the school year, mainly taking care of communications with Spanish-speaking clients. I planned on staying in Cincinnati this summer, working at the same firm I had been working at second semester, but close to the end of the school year, my old boss offered me the opportunity to come back to DC. My plan is to return to DC after graduating and practice here for a few years before going back to Cincinnati to settle down, so the opportunity to return was absolutely welcome.

isabel 1-1isabel 1-2

For personal reasons, I am not able to stay in DC this summer as long as I did last summer. Because I am more experienced and my time in DC is limited, I have different tasks this summer. I will be continuing to work in the same fashion that I did last summer but have more responsibility with larger and more complicated assignments and projects, and slightly more freedom in the way that I work and communicate with clients.

I am so excited to be back in this city! Last summer, I was focused on work and activism and I don’t think I took full advantage of being in DC. This summer, I am determined to spend every day doing getting the most out of my time here. Of course, my priority remains with work and activism, but I hope to be able to take full advantage of the rich culture and diversity there is in DC and go to every possible (free) event that I find interest in. In my first week here, I had Peruvian food twice, went to the Memorial Day Parade, and got to go on a free boat tour of the Anacostia River where I learned about the city’s efforts in restoring the river!

isabel 1-3.jpgisabel 1-4 -2.jpg

 

Leave a comment